top of page
Jeff Greene

MLB Team Logo

Growing up, my family watched a lot of sports from football to golf and in those days, tennis and boxing were a huge part of it. My grandmother always got excited over basketball. Football after Sunday church and eating Granny’s homemade cooking made heaven just a little closer to home.


A lot of names come flooding back to me for just thinking of those times. Tom Watson in Golf, McEnroe, Connors, Borg and Navratilova, Evert, in tennis. Staubach and Danny While, among many others in football. In Basketball, it was all about Bird and Magic, but we remember Brian Winters and Alex English from South Carolina Gamecock basketball. I left baseball off for this reason.


A few days ago I saw on Twitter a simple question. “When you look at the logo of a Major League baseball team, what player do you see?” I tried to answer the question for each team with the name that first came to mind.



Arizona Diamondbacks – Luis Gonzalez

Atlanta Braves – Dale Murphy

Baltimore Orioles – Cal Ripken Jr.

Boston Red Sox – Jim Rice

Chicago Cubs – Ryan Sandberg

Chicago White Sox – Frank Thomas

Cincinnati Reds – Pete Rose

Cleveland Indians – Jim Thome

Colorado Rockies – Larry Walker

Detroit Tigers – Justin Verlander

Houston Astros – Craig Biggio

Kansas City Royals – George Brett

Los Angeles Angels – Tim Salmon

Los Angeles Dodgers – Orel Hershiser

Miami Marlins – Dontrelle Willis

Milwaukee Brewers – Paul Molitor

Minnesota Twins – Chuck Knoblauch

New York Mets – Tom Seaver

New York Yankees – Thurman Munson

Oakland Athletics – Dennis Eckersley

Philadelphia Phillies – Mike Schmidt

Pittsburgh Pirates – Dave Parker

San Diego Padres – Tony Gwynn

San Francisco – Barry Bonds

Seattle Mariners – Ken Griffey Jr.

St. Louis Cardinals – Ozzie Smith

Tampa Bay Rays – Evan Longoria

Texas Ranger – Ivan Rodriguez

Toronto Blue Jays – Joe Carter

Washington Nationals/Montreal Expos – Gary Carter


A lot of these names came to me without any trouble, a flash of a play, or just an image of a player. A few teams I really had to think about but the teams that gave me the most trouble were those great franchises that a number of names could have been chosen, like the Yankees and Dodgers. Some names like Thurman Munson probably would not show up on a lot of people’s list but it was one of two names I really remember growing up and that stuck with me.


My own team, Seattle Mariners, I had a bit of trouble. It seemed that every name from the 1995 season popped in my head, including Doug Strange (a native of Greenville, SC), but in the end, it really was no contest.


What is your list?

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page