top of page
Jeff Greene

Charles Manson Sings

After watching the movie Once Upon a Time in Hollywood a few weeks back, I didn’t realize the movie was set in the timeframe of Charles Manson and the Sharon Tate murder. A lot of today’s generation doesn’t know anything about the Manson Family or the string of killings. I was only a kid, three, at the time but I remember the TV mini-series Helter Skelter which came out in 1976. Probably my first introduction to serial killers and why today I like reading about them, fictional or true accounts.

There once was a sports radio DJ in the Seattle area that I used to listen to. He told a story of an encounter with the Manson Family while he was hitchhiking in California. A riveting story that he always ended with “I’m glad to be alive today.”


There are many stories on meeting Charles Manson, even one by Dennis Wilson of the Beach Boys. It seems they struck up a friendship because, who knew, Manson wanted to be a singer/song writer. I guess you need a hobby outside of your day job of murder and mayhem.


The Beach Boys song "Never Learn Not To Love" is really Manson’s "Cease to Exists" song, with some alterations of which Manson didn’t like. Not someone to upset I say.

Anyway just some fact I never knew.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page