top of page
Jeff Greene

Einstein's Compass

Einstein: His Life and Universe written by Walter Isaacson is a must-read for biography and insight into the creation of the universe.


Several sources have indicated that his father gave him a magnetic compass while he was in bed sick. And that this simple act was the start of his journey of exploration in science. Even in his later years, he would comment on the compass saying “I can still remember…that the experience made a deep and lasting impression on me. Something deeply hidden had to be behind things.”


The National Geographic Channel has an amazing series called “Genius” and the first series was about Albert Einstein. This aired in 2017 and is well worth the watch along with the next series about Picasso.

But back on track of the compass. I suppose there is always something that triggers a direction in your life. For me, the love of music came when I discovered some old 45’s, I believe my grandmother had, along with a turntable. I can still hear the scratch of the needle. From that point on, I’ve never stopped listening to music. I have to have it on no matter what I am doing. Sitting in silence is just not that appealing.


As Einstein explored the question of his compass, his passionate curiosity blossomed into the very definition of genius. And where love of music only grew to the point of listening, not singing or playing for me.


So the question is what triggered a passion of yours?

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page