top of page
Jeff Greene

Memorial Day Stories (Part I)

Although all music genres have a significant place in my life, I have a heart for country music for the simple reason of the stories they tell hit the heart.


Paul Monti lost his son Jared in Afghanistan in 2006. NPR did an interview with Mr. Monti over his son’s death and because he was trying to petition for the right to put flags on the graves in the cemetery where his son was laid to rest.


At first, the cemetery said no, but it became known as the Operation Flags for Vets to honor in remembrance to those who gave their lives. On Memorial Day more than 77,000 flags will be placed in Massachusetts National Cemetery on Cape Cod.


But that is not all the story. During the interview with NPR, they asked how he was coping with the loss of his son. Paul Monti said that he drives around in his son’s truck.


Songwriter Connie Harrington happened to catch some of the interview and wrote enough notes down to take it to Jessi Alexander and Jimmy Yeary during one of their group songwriting sessions.


The song “I Drive Your Truck” was presented to country singer Lee Brice. “It slayed me, floored me,” Brice said. “And I immediately thought of my granddaddy. It wasn’t even about his military side, it was just about him – a dairy farmer, driving his truck around.” Brice’s reflections put the soul to the music.


Still, that is not all the story. “I Drive Your Truck” quickly reached number one. When the label threw a No. 1 party to celebrate, Lee Brice flew Mr. Monti out as his guest. And given Paul Mont another way to remember his son.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page