top of page
Jeff Greene

Mr. Jaws

Here in Portland on the weekends, one particular radio station plays a re-broadcast of the American’s Top 40 with Casey Kasem. Saturday is the 70’s version while Sunday is the 80’s. I love listening to them not just for the music but the tidbits of information you never knew or just forgotten about songs and bands.


One morning I caught a snippet of a type of song I’ve forgotten, the novelty song. These were the types that combined clips from different popular songs and used them in a comedic form as answers to voice actor’s questions. Always fun and entertaining.

After doing a bit more research, I’ve come to find out that one person did most of these and most wound up on the Billboard charts. Dickie Goodman first started in 1956 with a parody to “War of the Worlds”. This continued into the late 70’s and early 80’s.

The one I remember most and is probably his most popular one, is "Mr. Jaws." I’ve included a YouTube link to it.

Just listening to it had brought back some good memories of.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page