top of page
Jeff Greene

Rubik's Cube

Originally named the “Magic Cube” by Erno Rubik, the Rubik’s Cube is still popular today as was its international debut in 1980.


Erno Rubik was born during WWII in Budapest, Hungary and was a professor of architecture at the Budapest College of Applied Arts. He built the first prototype out of wood in 1974. During an interview with CNN, Mr. Rubik said “he was searching to find a good task for his students.”

The world and I, have enjoyed this toy along with the many scholars who have used it for scientific research and technology development. It has appeared on the cover of Scientific American for one.


There is a significant extensive article on the many aspects of the cube in the Chinese Journal of Mechanical Engineering. I have included a link if you care to read this fascinating piece. HERE

Orginal cube


As a kid, my parents gave me one for Christmas. I played with the cube so much that when I turned it, the internals were so worn down that it would just fall apart. It took me a few years to solve the original 3x3 cube. Now I could probably do it in 15 minutes or so.


Over the years I have brought others, like the 2x2, 4x4, and I now have the 5x5. I have solved all of them but still working on the 5x5.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page