top of page
Jeff Greene

Top Gun and the Star Wars franchise

Probably my favorite movies, and I’ll take the good and the bad. The original Top Gun came out in 1986. The original Star Wars starting in 1977.

I only consider a few movies I would watch in a movie theater. Big production movies with heavy CGI, like the Marvel sets, those just look better on a larger screen vice a home television set. Dramas and animation type movies, I can wait to pick up on a streaming service.

I did see Top Gun at the theaters and I saw Star Wars’ Empire Strikes Back also. In the middle of the pandemic, there was an article about Regal Cinemas and their plans of re-opening to the public. Since a lot of movies had been pushed back on release dates, the article mentioned that Regal would start showing some classic movies while they waited for the new releases. One such movie on the list was Star Wars. I think I would go see this while wearing my mask.

So my question is what classic movie would entice you to hit the theaters in such a time we are living in today? Or even if the theaters dedicated one screen to show older movies, what would you like to see?

The new Top Gun: Maverick will be hitting the big screens at some point while the next Star Wars movie is probably a year away.

In the meantime, Vlogger Jackson McKay put together some X-wing footage with the Top Gun song “Danger Zone”, by Kenny Loggins.

Have to say it was a cool production but I so strongly associate the song with Top Gun and it is hard not wanting to see an F-14 launch off a carrier. What do you think?


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page